ISCA Medal for Scientific Achievement 2021

Over the past few months, the ISCA Board has sought out nominations for the ISCA Medal for Scientific Achievement. This medal recognizes and honors an individual each year who has made extraordinary contributions to the field of speech communication science and technology. We received a large number of nominations and went through an extensive review process by the ISCA Awards Committee and all ISCA Board members (several rounds of voting to narrow to three finalists and then additional discussions). I am pleased to announce that this year's recipient of the 2021 ISCA Medal for Scientific Achievement is Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hermann Ney, Human Language Technology and Pattern Recognition, RWTH Aachen, Germany.



This is the highest ISCA award for scientific and technical achievement, and certainly well deserved for Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ney's pioneering and seminal contributions to data-driven methods for automatic speech recognition and machine translation.

Please join me in congratulating our 2021 ISCA MEDAL FOR SCIENTIFIC ACHIEVEMENT recipient! Prof. Dr.Ing. Ney will be giving the opening keynote address at INTERSPEECH-2021 this fall.

Further details can be found in this press release: word, pdf.

John H.L. Hansen (ISCA President)


Nominations for ISCA Fellows, Distinguished Lecturers and Members of the ISCA Board 

[25-Jan-2021] Nominations are due in the next month for ISCA Fellows, ISCA Distinguished Lecturers and Members of the ISCA Board

  1. ISCA Fellows Program recognizes and honors outstanding ISCA members who have made significant contributions to the science and technology of speech communication. Nominations for ISCA Fellows 2021: Wednesday, February 10, 2021
  2. ISCA Distinguished Lecturers Program supports at least two Lecture Tours in a two-year term, including possible travel to regions specially identified as under-represented in ISCA programs (e.g., Eastern Europe, Africa, West/South/South-East Asia, and South/Latin America). Nominations for ISCA Distinguished Lecturers: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. (closing date extended by 2 weeks)
  3. Elections for Members of the ISCA Board 2021-2025 will take place in April/May. Nominations should be received by: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Applications are open for the Eleventh Christian Benoît Award

[20-Jan-2021] The Christian Benoît Award is given biannually to a promising young scientist in the domain of SPEECH COMMUNICATION to further their career in the field. The focus of the award's research topic may emphasise basic science or applied research projects.

The Award provides the elected scientist with financial support for the development of a personal short-term research project that:
(1) illustrates concretely the achievements of her/his research work;
(2) could help promoting this work in the scientific community, institutions and grant agencies in their geographical region/country;
(3) gives an overall view of the state of the art in the research domain.

The award is valued at 7,500 Euros and conferred by the International Speech Communication Association and the Association Francophone de la Communication Parlée.

Application Deadline is May 14, 2021 !!  More information in this flyer 

Information about the Award Committee.

Election of members for the Board of ISCA (2021-2025): Nominations Closing Date 1st March

[18-Jan-2021] The ISCA Board currently has 14 members from 9 countries (see full list below). Members are elected to the Board for a period of four years and no member may serve on the Board for more than two consecutive terms. The following Board members will have served for two terms of 4 years in August so will be retiring: Gérard BAILLY, Mark HASAGEWA-JOHNSON, Kate KNILL. Phil GREEN, Tatsuya KAWAHARA, Hema MURTHY, Bhuvana RAMABHADRAN, Odette SCHARENBORG will be ending their first term. Thus we have openings for 8 members for the 2021-2025 term.

In accordance with the ISCA by-laws, elections to the Board will take place in April-May 2021. We invite nominations from the ISCA membership. Each nomination requires the support of three members of the Association and agreement from the candidate (e.g., by email). The ISCA statutes specify a maximum of three Board members from any one country. Each ISCA member will be asked to cast a anonymous ballot in the election, via a survey website.

Members elected to the Board will be expected to have one of the areas of responsibility listed below, to commit time to furthering the work of ISCA in their area, to attend the two-day Board meetings that take place at each annual INTERSPEECH conference and to participate in additional virtual meetings during the year (teleconferences). All candidates should be aware of these obligations and commit themselves to fulfilling them before agreeing to be nominated.

The Board will accept nominations either from proposers or self-nominations, as long as indication of support is provided. Please send your nomination(s) to the ISCA Secretariat This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. BEFORE March 1st, 2021 (Monday) with the following information:

Full Name and Title:
Position and Institution:
Research area:
Indication of willingness to serve if elected:
Short biography (one paragraph)
Short statement (one paragraph, describing the work they would intend to do on the Board)
Names and emails of three proposers (ISCA members).

Please provide a photo, for posting on the ballot.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you require further information about the nomination process or about duties of ISCA Board members.

Best regards,
Kate Knill (ISCA Secretary) This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Current Board:

John HANSEN (ISCA President)
Torbjørn SVENDSEN (ISCA Vice-President)
Mark HASEGAWA-JOHNSON (ISCA Treasurer) (retiring from Board)
Kate KNILL (ISCA Secretary) (retiring from Board)
Gérard BAILLY (retiring from Board)
Phil GREEN (end of 1st term)
Tatsuya KAWAHARA (end of 1st term)
Sebastian MÖLLER
Hema MURTHY (end of 1st term)
Bhuvana RAMABHADRAN (end of 1st term)
Odette SCHARENBORG (end of 1st term)
Jianhua TAO
Margaret 'Meg' ZELLERS