ISCA - International Speech
Communication Association

ISCA Medal for Scientific Achievement

The ISCA Medal for Scientific Achievement recognizes and honors an individual each year who has made extraordinary contributions to the field of speech communication science and technology. The award of this ISCA Medal was established in 1989.

Any ISCA member can make a nomination. All nominations for the ISCA Medal for Scientific Achievement of the year should be submitted to ISCA Secretariat at by the 5 January  ISCA Board will select and announce the winner of the year on 1 March.  The nomination form can be downloaded here. Unsuccessful candidates of the previous year(s) must be re-nominated to qualify for candidacy. The ISCA Medal for Scientific Achievement is presented to the winner by ISCA President at INTERSPEECH opening ceremony, where the Medalist also delivers a keynote speech.

The ISCA Medal for Scientific Achievement has been awarded to:

  • Isabel Trancoso (INTERSPEECH 2024, Kos)
    For pioneering contributions to speech coding and resources for the Portuguese language, and the speech community
  • Shrikanth Narayanan (INTERSPEECH 2023, Dublin)
    For his sustained and diverse contributions to speech communication science and technology and its application to human-centered engineering systems
  • Lin-shan Lee (INTERSPEECH 2022, Incheon)
    For sustained innovation in all aspects of Chinese and English spoken language technologies
  • Hermann Ney (INTERSPEECH 2021, Brno)
    For pioneering and seminal contributions to data-driven methods for automatic speech recognition and machine translation
  • Janet Pierrehumbert (INTERSPEECH 2020, Shanghai)
    For contributions to Phonology
  • Keiichi Tokuda (INTERSPEECH 2019, Graz)
    For pioneering statistical parametric approaches in speech synthesis, and for leadership in the provision of enabling software tools
  • Bishnu Atal (INTERSPEECH 2018, Hyderabad)
    For pioneering contributions to speech coding and speech analysis
  • Fumitada Itakura (INTERSPEECH 2017, Stockholm)
    For contributions in developing fundamental statistical algorithms in speech coding and recognition with broad and unparalleled impacts
  • John Makhoul (INTERSPEECH 2016, San Francisco)
    For leadership and extensive contributions to speech and language processing
  • Mary E. Beckman (INTERSPEECH 2015, Dresden)
    For her contributions in phonological acquisition and her leadership in the Association for Laboratory Phonology
  • Anne Cutler (INTERSPEECH 2014, Singapore)
    For charting the variation of speech perception across languages, and for her leadership in the field of speech perception research
  • Hynek Hermansky (INTERSPEECH 2013, Lyon, France)
    For his contributions in bio-inspired approaches to processing of speech
  • Chin-Hui Lee (INTERSPEECH 2012, Portland, USA)
    For pioneering and seminal contributions to automatic speech and speaker recognition, including innovations in adaptive learning, discriminative training, and utterance verification
  • Julia Hirschberg (INTERSPEECH 2011, Florence, Italy)
    In recognition of her contributions to speech synthesis and prosody research
  • Steve Young (INTERSPEECH 2010, Makuhari, Japan)
  • Sadaoki Furui (INTERSPEECH 2009, Brighton, UK)
  • Hiroya Fujisaki (INTERSPEECH 2008, Brisbane, Australia)
  • Victor Zue (INTERSPEECH 2007, Antwerp, Belgium)
  • John Ohala (INTERSPEECH 2006, Pittsburgh, USA)
  • Graeme Clark (INTERSPEECH 2005, Lisbon, Portugal)
  • Manfred Schroeder (INTERSPEECH 2004, Jeju, Korea)
  • Jens Blauert (EUROSPEECH/INTERSPEECH 2003, Geneva, Switzerland)
  • Ilse lehiste (ICSLP/INTERSPEECH'02, Denver, Co, USA)
  • Louis Pols (EUROSPEECH/INTERSPEECH '01, Aalborg)
  • Frederick Jelinek (EUROSPEECH '99, Budapest)
  • Mario Rossi (EUROSPEECH '97, Rhodes)
  • Ken Stevens (EUROSPEECH '95, Madrid)
  • Adrian Fourcin (EUROSPEECH '93, Berlin)
  • Jim Flanagan (EUROSPEECH '91, Genoa)
  • Gunnar Fant (EUROSPEECH '89, Paris)

 Organisation  Events   Membership   Help 
 > Board  > Interspeech  > Join - renew  > Sitemap
 > Legal documents  > Workshops  > Membership directory  > Contact
 > Logos      > FAQ
       > Privacy policy

© Copyright 2024 - ISCA International Speech Communication Association - All right reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software